Community Safety Standing Policy Committee puts forward motion to not extend Lethbridge mask bylaw

The Community Safety Standing Policy Committee voted Thursday to not extend the current Temporary Mandatory Face Covering Bylaw in Lethbridge. The motion was approved 3-1. Councillor Blaine Hyggen brought the motion forward, with Councillor Mark Campbell being the only one who voted against the motion.

Blaine Hyggen, Mark Campbell, Joe Mauro, and Ryan Parker make up the four Councillors who sit on the Community Safety Standing Policy Committee.

The province of Alberta has a mask bylaw now, but when Lethbridge brought forth their mask bylaw in August of last year, the province hadn’t implemented their own bylaw yet.

“I think it’s time to let that expire, and continue on with the provincial mask bylaw,” says Hyggen.

Councillor Mark Campbell says that he wants consultation with the health department and local officials to show that they agree with what the province of Alberta says, “I’m all in favour of getting rid of face masks. But I want to do it safely. I think adding that element to it keeps us safe.”

The motion will be brought to Lethbridge City Council on February 23, where Councillors can either vote to shoot it down, or approve it.

Micah Quinn

After graduating from Mount Royal University in Calgary with a Broadcasting Diploma, Micah made the trek down to Lethbridge to work for Bridge City News. He has previously worked at City TV Calgary on the Breakfast Television morning show. He looks forward to connecting with this community, and reaching a new audience. Micah has a passion for interviewing and finding out why people think the way they do. You’ll often find him pursuing local feature stories and hard news.

Related post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *